top of page

On Landscape

'The material facts of life, the organic and concrete forces that fashion us, are overlooked as if they're irrelevant.'

Tim Winton

Reading Tim Winton's 'Island Home', has me thinking about landscape.

He talks about how landscape has shaped him, how it shapes all of us, and how it is a subconscious, integral part of who we are.

I am very aware that landscape and nature play a huge part of who I am, and immediately affects my mental state and well being.

I realised this first back in 2010 when I travelled to Prague and, for the first time in my life, found myself in a landlocked country. Prague, being beautiful and full of vibrant culture, confused me, as I couldn’t put my finger on what was making me feel so unsettled. It wasn’t until I reached Stockholm a week later, that I realised that I had been craving the water, open space, and horizon lines.

Given this experience, it may seem odd that I’ve chosen to spend 50 days in a high density country like Japan.

Japan, however, offers something else.

While I haven’t spent significant time in Japan since I was a child, and I - without question - identify as Australian, there is something about Japan that is in me. Smells, sights, sounds, that inexplicably make it feel like coming home. It is not the landscape per sae, but there is something beyond the people and the culture that gives a sense of belonging.

I’ve been very fortunate to travel to several places around the world where the landscape has influenced me, become a part of who I am and what I do. This time in Japan will be an interesting addition, a trip with a focus on art and landscape.

I am particularly interested in art as a form of documentation, from illustration to installation, this journey around Japan will have a strong focus on how we document, record, write, photograph, capture, frame, and re-present.


bottom of page